Academic Requirements

Workload Requirements

All undergraduate courses at the University of Melbourne are approved for Centrelink study payments.

Full-Time Study

Unless a workload concession applies, students are required to maintain a full time workload to receive a Centrelink study payment.

Workload concessions - Youth Allowance and Austudy Payment

There are several concessions available for students who are unable to undertake a full time workload.

Time limits and satisfactory progress

Normally, you can only get Youth Allowance or Austudy Payment if, at the start of the year, you haven't studied for longer than the normal minimum duration of your current course plus a semester.

Centrelink takes into account any previous study you have already attempted at the same level as your current course. There are different rules for the length of time you are allowed to study depending on whether you are a Youth Allowance or Austudy recipient. There are a number of concessions to these rules, so check before commencing your course with Centrelink or Student Financial Aid.

Approved Graduate Courses

Presently only some Masters courses have been approved for Youth Allowance and Austudy payments.  Please note that rules around 'nested content', which allowed students to study an unapproved Masters course for the period it took to complete a graduate diploma (if included in the course structure), have been removed. These students must now be enrolled in the lower level course to receive a study payment.

All Masters and PhD courses have been approved for Abstudy.

It is not possible to receive Austudy Payment or Youth Allowance to study a PhD course. If you have already completed a PhD then you are ineligible for an Austudy payment in a subsequent course. If the PhD was incomplete or it was completed overseas and is not equivalent to an Australian Masters or PhD, then it may be disregarded.

Centrelink considers that there are four levels of study. The four levels are TAFE certificate courses; Associate Diplomas; undergraduate courses; and postgraduate courses below the level of Masters. With Austudy payment a student can only get payment to do one course from each level in any order. Youth Allowance currently has no restrictions on studying a second course at the same level.

Please note that some courses offered by the University, despite including the word 'Doctor' in their title, remain Masters level courses.

The currently approved University of Melbourne Masters level courses are:


Doctor of Dental Surgery

Doctor of Medicine

Doctor of Optometry

Doctor of Physiotherapy

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine

Executive Master of Arts

Juris Doctor

Master of Actuarial Science

Master of Agricultural Sciences

Master of Architecture

Master of Biomedical Science

Master of Biotechnology

Master of Business Analytics

Master of Clinical Audiology

Master of Construction Management

Master of Cultural Material Conservation

Master of Educational Psychology

Master of Engineering

Master of Engineering (Biochemical)

Master of Engineering (Biomedical)

Master of Engineering (Chemical)

Master of Engineering (Civil)

Master of Engineering (Electrical)

Master of Engineering (Environmental)

Master of Engineering (Mechanical)

Master of Engineering (Mechatronics)

Master of Engineering (Software)

Master of Engineering (Spatial)

Master of Engineering (Structural)

Master of Environment

Master of Food and Packaging Innovation

Master of Food Science

Master of Forest Ecosystem Science

Master of Genetic Counselling

Master of Geography

Master of Information Systems

Master of Information Technology

Master of International Relations

Master of Landscape Architecture

Master of Learning Intervention

Master of Management (Accounting)

Master of Management (Human Resources)

Master of Management (Marketing)

Master of Music Therapy (by course-work)

Master of Nursing Science

Master of Property

Master of Psychology

Master of Psychology   (Clinical Neuropsychology)

Master of Psychology   (Clinical Psychology)

Master of Public Health

Master of Science (Bioinformatics)

Master of Science (Biosciences)

Master of Science (Chemistry)

Master of Science (Earth Sciences)

Master of Science (Epidemiology)

Master of Science (Math and Stats)

Master of Science (Physics)

Master of Social Work

Master of Speech Pathology

Master of Teaching

Master of Teaching (Early Childhood)

Master of Teaching (Early Childhood and   Primary)

Master of Translation

Master of Urban Analytics

Master of Urban and Cultural Heritage

Master of Urban Design

Master of Urban Horticulture

Master of Urban Planning